From Joseph Hooker   20 October 1860

Br. Consulate Jerusalem Octr 20/60

My dear Mueller

The address of this will surprise you I dare say, but I have taken advantage of my 6 weeks leave1 to visit Syria, & have come here en route to Nazareth &c & so home by Caipha2 & Beirut. I have already been through N. Syria, crossing the Lebanon & Antilebanon to Damascus. The season is absolutely dead as far as regards Vegetation, but I have been greatly interested in various ways. My chief object in writing now is to ask your aid towards improving this interesting locality by an envoi of Australian seeds. Mr & Mrs Finn the Consul & his lady are making great efforts to introduce trees especially around Jerusalem have purchased land & gone to a great deal of expence & trouble, the soil & climate are admirable & the country is cursed by man & man's works alone — I believe that many Victoria trees would succeed here better than those of any other country, & I know that you would be proud to be the instrument of populating the country with arborescent vegetation. no one could do it so well as you & no plants would succeed better than Australian. The quick-growing ones would be the most important as shade & a break-wind of plants that will withstand drought are the first requisites — We can send from Kew Californian, Cape & N.W. Indian seeds & shall do so, but you can cut us out [by] Victorian — The following would be especially desirable.

Blue Gum

Peppermint do

Various Acacias

Casuarinas

Callitris

Melaleucas

Anthesteria & other dry climate large Grasses.

Pomaderris

Banksia

Hakea

Grevillea

&c &c &c You can from the above hint, judge better than I can indicate, what would be acceptable.

Address the packet

James Finn Eqr

British Consul

Jerusalem

Care of the British Consul

Alexandria

I go home by the November mail

Ever sincerely yrs

Jos. D Hooker.3

 

Dr. Mueller

 

Please put on each packet whether tree, shrub, or grass. This is more important than the Scientific names

 

Acacia

Anthesteria

Banksia

Callitris

Casuarina

Grevillea

Hakea

Melaleuca

Pomaderris

 
 
Hooker was actually away for ten weeks, leaving England around 9 September 1860, departing from Trieste on 15 September and returning to London on 17 November.
Haifa.
See also M to J. Moore, 15 January 1862, and Rosen (1991).

Please cite as “FVM-60-10-20,” in Ɛpsilon: The Ferdinand von Mueller Collection accessed on 26 October 2021, https://epsilon.ac.uk/view/vonmueller/letters/60-10-20