WCP214

Letter (WCP214.214)

[1]

Parkstone, Dorset.

June 14th. 1890

My dear Violet

I have been so very busy I have not had time to write. I had 1200 papers this year and only finished them on Wednesday. Now I have lots to do in the garden, writing letters & writing my Address for the L.[innea]n. Soc[iety]. next Thursday. I enclose you a card in case any of your friends like to come.

The answers were not bad enough this time to make much fun. I send a few I copied out — be sure you take care of them & send them back to go with the rest of my collection. The [2] questions are sent too so that you can understand them.

I hope you squalled well after being in "blue fits".

I thought your Chemical exam. was over before this: How did you get on.

We had a lovely walk from Swanage to Studland one day while waiting for the papers. Studland is one of the most curious & pretty villages I have ever seen. We got some bee orchises on the way. They are now in flower in the Garden. On Friday after the meeting I [3] am going to Godalming if the Marshalls can have me for a night.

I send you a copy of our new Programme which I think is scrupmptious & stunning, — & would puzzle Huxley1 to answer it.

In haste | Your affectionate Papa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

P.S. We have not any sendable flowers in the garden just now. Perhaps we shall have soon. A.R.W. [signature]

Huxley, Thomas Henry (1825-1895). British biologist and author, known as "Darwin's Bulldog".

Please cite as “WCP214,” in Beccaloni, G. W. (ed.), Ɛpsilon: The Alfred Russel Wallace Collection accessed on 1 March 2024, https://epsilon.ac.uk/view/wallace/letters/WCP214