WCP4093

Author’s draft (WCP4093.4040)

[[1]]

Dear Wallace

I have just bethought me & it is strange that I had not thought of it before, that my second son1 is quite capable of doing the job about which I have written to you,2 & I am certain that he w[oul]d like to do it, especially if I gave him a present. [1 sentence struck through, illeg.]. I gathered [1 word struck through, illeg.] an impression from your note3 to Bates4 that you did not care much about undertaking the work; & perhaps you will care still less when you hear how dull & tedious a one it is. If so I will get my son to undertake it. If on the other hand you wish for it, all that I wrote will of course, hold good. In any case I [1 word struck through, illeg.] beg you to excuse me for the [1 word struck through, illeg.] trouble which I have thus caused you. [1 word struck through, illeg.] If you have written bef to me before you receive this w[oul]d you kindly let me have a post-card— telling me how the case stands.

In Haste | yours very sincerely | C. D. [signature]

Darwin, George Howard (1845-1912). Astronomer and mathematician and 2nd son of Charles Robert Darwin.
In his letter to ARW of 17 November 1873 [WCP4092_L4039], Darwin described the work he wished to have done for the checking over the proofs of Darwin, C. 1874. The Descent of Man, and Selection in Relation to Sex. 2nd Ed. London, UK: John Murray.
Bates had sent to Darwin on 15 November 1873 a note he received from ARW, dated 14 November 1873 [], indicating that he would undertake the work of looking over Darwin’s proofs of the second edition of The Descent of Man.
Bates, Henry Walter (1825-1892). British naturalist, explorer and close friend of ARW.

Please cite as “WCP4093,” in Beccaloni, G. W. (ed.), Ɛpsilon: The Alfred Russel Wallace Collection accessed on 23 February 2024, https://epsilon.ac.uk/view/wallace/letters/WCP4093